General information:


Tomić Street / The Strossmayer promenade

The Zagreb Funicular is a protected cultural monument, and one of the important symbols of Zagreb. During its nearly 130 years of operation, it has become a must-see tourist attraction. The funicular connects Donji and Gornji grad – the stop at the bottom is on Tomić Street, the former Bregovita Street, and the stop at the top is at the Strossmayerovom promenade at the foot of the Lotrščak Tower. It is also the oldest means of organized public transport in Zagreb, a year older than horse tram. It is famous for being the shortest funicular railway in the world because the railway line is only 66 meters.

The initiator of the construction was a building contractor from Osijek, D. W. Klein, who closely followed pedestrian traffic and recorded whether more people ascended to Gornji grad via Mesnička Street, Duga Street, or via the 165 public stairs leading from the former Bregovita Street. The southern ascent proved the busiest. On 8 October 1890, the funicular was officially put into operation, and it was put into real and permanent operation on 23 April 1893, at first operating with a steam engine and later by electric power.

In its first years of existence, the funicular had several nicknames – the Zagreb funicular, the railway on a wire rope, the old lady and zapinjača (a word that mocks the habit of the funicular to get stuck and rhymes with the Croatian word for a funicular uspinjača). Throughout all its years of operation, there was not a single accident, no injured passengers, and therefore, it is the safest form of public transport in Croatia and beyond. Today, the Zagrebački električni tramvaj (Zagreb Electric Tram) takes care of the funicular with a total capacity of 56 passengers. The funicular runs every 10 minutes and it needs 64 seconds to connect Donji and Gornji grad. It runs every day of the year from 6:30 am – 10:00 pm.

Zagreb Card offers free rides on this 130 year-old city lady! Do not miss this unique experience!